Knackerbröd

This is a Swedish crispbread, again I am trying to use up the rye flour, they taste very strongly of rye, this is no surprise as they are simply rye flour, yeast, water, butter, salt and wheat bran. However, they are tasty and I can imagine if I had the patience to make some soft cheese, or if the boy had the energy to wander and get some, they would go brilliantly with it. My husband has taken some to work today with Pâté and the very end of the tomato and chilli jam I made for our wedding just over 10 months ago! He seems to like them, so at least I know they will get eaten by him. (He is my dustbin though, I can’t think of anything I’ve made that he wouldn’t eat, so we are doing well so far)

Ingredients

450g Rye flour

1tsp Salt

50g Butter

20g Fresh yeast

275mn Lukewarm water

75g Wheat bran

Method

1. Preheat the oven to 230c. Mix together the salt and flour and then rub in the butter. Grease a couple of baking trays, (personally I don’t do this, I have a Le Creuset silicone sheet that I adore and use constantly).

2. Cream the yeast with some water, add the rest and then mix it into the flour to form a dough. Knead for only around 5 minutes until it is elastic and smooth.

3. Divide the dough into 8 and roll out on a lightly floured surface until they are around 20cm in diameter.

4. Place on the baking trays, cut a hole in the centre if you want to be traditional, I didn’t bother. Bake for 15 to 20 minutes until crisp. Repeat until you’ve used all your dough.

Leave a Reply

