Raisin and Rosemary Bread

Now that I finally have an oven which heats sensibly and doesn’t just burn anything that goes near it, I have started making bread again, the aim, as always, is to buy as little flour based ready made things as possible, I don’t claim that I will make all of our pasta and things, but as much bread and baked things as I feasibly can! This started with raisin and rosemary bread. I have to admit, it sounded like an odd combination, I never really know what to do with rosemary, I bung it in things occasionally, but it is never really a major feature of anything, however, this loaf was pretty nice, personally, I couldn’t have told you there was rosemary in it particularly, but my husband said he could taste it, and the boy liked it, so that’s all that matters!

Ingredients

160ml Warm water

60ml Extra virgin olive oil

2 Eggs

500g White bread flour

30ml Skimmed milk powder

1tbsp Fresh rosemary, chopped

1tsp Salt

2tsp Granulated sugar

1tsp Easy blend dried yeast

115g Raisins

Method

1. Mix together the flour and milk powder, add the rosemary then mix it around with your hand.

2. Add the sugar at one side, the salt at another and the yeast at another (this is because the salt can stop the yeast working, putting the sugar at another side just makes sure you know you’ve added it!)

3. Add the eggs, water and oil and mix, again with your hand, to combine. Use the dough to collect all of the dry flour around the bowl.

4. Knead the dough for at least 10 minutes until it is stretchy, a couple of minutes before the end, add the raisins and knead them in, making sure that they are evenly distributed throughout the dough.

5. Put the dough back into the bowl, cover with a damp tea towel and leave to rise for an hour or so, until it is doubled in size.

6. Knock back the dough, shape into whatever shape you want, I used a simple loaf tin, and then leave to rise again for around an hour.

7. Heat the oven to 180c and bake the bread until it sounds hollow when tapped underneath. WP_20160525_08_11_06_Pro(This is one of those things I hate in recipes, all ovens are different and you will get to know how long a loaf takes in your oven, and with practice, the hollow sound that all bread bakers talk of becomes pretty obvious, just trust your instincts!)

 

My son had this with chocolate spread on as he didn’t think it would be nice with anything savoury, however, when he tried it with sliced, cooked chicken, he said it was yummy! I barely had any of this, but finishing the loaf off as toast was lovely, definitely a loaf I would make again if I ran out of new ones to try making!

I am hoping to be incredibly organised and when ever the oven is going to be on and not quite full, I am hoping to fill the space with something bread related instead of being lazy and going and buying loaves of tasteless rubbish for ridiculous prices!!

One thought on “Raisin and Rosemary Bread

Leave a Reply

