Meringues

WP_20150316_10_53_54_ProBecause I made creme patisserie to go in my chocolate eclairs, I ended up with 4 egg whites in my fridge, because I hate to throw things away, the obvious use was to make some meringues. I don’t make them very often, as I then have to find a use for egg yolks, however, they are ridiculously simple.

Ingredients

3 egg whites

150g caster sugar

Method

1. Preheat the oven to 140c.

2. Whisk the egg whites until they hold in stiff peaks.

3. Add the caster sugar a teaspoon at a time, whisking as you add it, the mixture should end up very glossy.

4. Spoon dollops, or pipe the mixture onto a silicone baking tray, or one covered in greaseproof paper. Bake for around an hour until browned and crisp.

WP_20150315_17_30_43_Pro

To go with our meringues…and some ice cream for pudding, I warmed some raspberries, added a sprinkling of sugar and made a jammy mixture. It was yummy!

One thought on “Meringues

Leave a Reply

