Lime cordial

I sometimes go a little over the top when I am shopping, especially when things are reduced! So I have ended up with masses of limes! I have sliced lots of them and frozen them to have in our mexican style lager (which is incredibly yummy) but I still have 10 sat on the side! At this point I decided Lime Cordial was the solution to my problem, obviously!

Ingredients

500g Caster Sugar

Juice of around 8 limes (250ml in total)

250ml water

Zest of 2 limes

1tsp Citric Acid

Method

Of course the first job is to juice and zest the limes. I froze the zest from the 6 limes I needed juice from but not zest, this is just me yet agin not wanting to throw things away which I could use!

image

 

image

Next put the sugar, water and the zest of 2 limes into a pan and stir until the sugar is dissolved. Bring to a boil and then simmer for 10 minutes, keeping an eye on it but not stirring constantly.

image

Strain the liquid into a clean pan adding the juice as you go to make sure there is no pulp in it. Bring this back to the boil.

image

Remove from the heat and add the citric acid. Immediately bottle in a sterilised and heated bottle. Seal and leave to cool, then store in the fridge for up to 3 months.

image

Personally I am not normally a massive fan of lime cordial, but this is nothing like the bought stuff! Its so tasty rather than that slightly odd pretend lime flavour you sometimes get. I am looking forward to glasses full of ice and lime slices and this cordial sat in the sun in the garden this summer! Fingers crossed the elderflower cordial which is currently sat in my kitchen will be just as good!

Leave a Reply

