Poptarts

I seriously dislike poptarts, the ones you buy for ridiculous amounts of money that are far too sweet to stomach and taste of nothing else but sugar, they are horrible! However, my son and my other half think they are amazing. But who would have thought you could make poptarts at home!! I had some left over pastry from making my quiche, so I experimented.
Roll out the pastry almost as thin as you can sensibly go with shortcrust pastry. Cut it into equal rectangles, in all honesty I reckon you could do any shape. Spread half of the rectangles with jam leaving a gap around the edge to stick a top on. Use water to wet around the edge then firmly press on a lid. Bake for 15 minutes or until golden. Wait until they are cool and then cover with icing and sprinkles.
The result is actually something I could eat, not that I got much chance! They weren’t exactly the neatest things I’ve ever made, but if I have the choice of making these or buying them, from now on I am making my own! Next I will try some other combinations, chocolate spread, peanut butter, lemon curd….who knows!

image

Leave a Reply

