The Liebster Award

So, the other day when I checked my blog I had a brilliant surprise, someone had nominated me for the Liebster Award, I had no idea what this was, but luckily, the wonderful person who nominated me had explained it in their post.

liebster awardSo, firstly a MASSIVE thank you to Jess at The Little Blog Of Baking for nominating me. Her blog is amazing, everything looks so tasty. I love baking a food, so another blogger with a similar absolute love for similar things is always a winner with me!

The Liebster Award, as explained by Jess, is given to those blog writers with fewer than 200 blog followers by people who enjoy reading their posts and want to help share each others’ work. It seems like a brilliant idea, and anyway to share and introduce blogs to other people I think is a great idea.

So, the rules are as follows:

You must thank the person who nominated you

Answer the 11 questions posed by your nominator (see below)

Pass on the award to 11 new recipients

Pose 11 new questions to your bloggers

Jess’s questions to me were:

What made you start blogging in the first place?

Personally I got pestered into it, in a positive way! multiple people told me I should do something slightly more constructive with my baking than just posting them on facebook, and as eventually I hope to make a living from something to do with it, it seemed like a good way to see how many people out there actually care! Also, I have always been one of those people that wishes I had kept a record of things, like all the books I have ever read (something I wish I had started 24 years ago!), or all the places I had ever visited, the beers I have drunk etc etc, this felt like a way to keep a record of all my baking.

What is your favourite thing about blogging?

The record I can keep is definitely a driving factor, but I also love the sharing. Having people I have never met appreciating my cooking is something I have always dreamed of!

Where is your favourite place you’ve ever travelled to?

Personally I have a love of nature, places I can walk in silence, nothing but the sound of nature, so I guess, due to my limited travelling, my favourite place I have travelled to is probably Exmoor, in Devon, it sounds ridiculous, but the memories I have here, of my sister getting married and the peace and tranquillity of it, definitely puts it at the top of my list.

If you could choose only one, which would you keep: bread, pasta or potatoes?

For me this has 2 answers, if I could only eat one, this would definitely be pasta as we seem to eat this 3 times a week at the moment! But, bread is a massive part of my life, I don’t think I could go a week without making a loaf, it is my way to relax, kneading it is so therapeutic, and the smell of it baking fills my house every other day. This, I don’t think I could live without! so I guess overall, it has to be bread.

Are you a sweet or a savoury kind of person?

Savoury. I love the little snacky things you can have, pretzels and nuts fill our cupboards, but I can deal without having cakes and biscuits if I have to.

What is your favourite book?

As childish as this sounds, the 7 Harry Potter books are my favourite books, I grew up with them, they were a large part of my childhood and I remember staying up till 3am trying to read as much as I could on the nights they came out!

What is your favourite film?

I have to be honest, I am not a film fan, but if I had to pick one, I suppose it would be Disneys Robin Hood, I know it virtually word for word and it was the first Disney film I bought for my son! I used to watch it everytime I was ill when I was younger.

Which is your favourite cuisine from around the world and why?

My favourite has to be Chinese, not the greasy stuff you get from a take away, or the rubbery stuff you can get as ready meals, but homemade Chinese with the proper ingredients cannot be beaten. It is so tasty and has the right balance of hot and sour but sweet, it is truly my guilty little secret.

If you could have anyone over for dinner who would it be and what would you cook as your signature dish?

My family, we are so spread out that this rarely happens! I would cook spaghetti bolognaise, as simple as it sounds, but I remember my mum cooking this when we were young and it has some brilliant memories tied to it.

What have you learned since you started blogging – any tips that you would pass on to other bloggers or people thinking about starting a blog?

Post regularly and from the heart, when you write rubbish it comes out rubbish, but when you truly care about what you are writing it seems to come out a lot better!

Which famous person would you love to meet and why?

Jamie Oliver I think, I love his recipes and think he would be a relatively cool person to meet!

So, now I have to nominate 11 bloggers, these are people who have visited my blog, commented or followed or blog about things I believe in or care about…please take a look as I share this Liebster love with them!

PelicanPlant’s

My Food Challenge

bunnyhopscotch

The Silva Homestead Blog

Baking for Bears

Sweet Baking

Just The Basics

corner of bay street

jRoxDesigns

Little Bit Sweet

Savory and Sweet Eats

My questions to all of you are:

Why and where do you normally blog?

If you had to choose to never eat meat or vegetables ever again, which would you choose and why?

What is the most ridiculous child’s name you have heard in recent years?

Chocolate cake, fruit cake or vanilla cake?

Do you normally follow a recipe? Or do you always think you know better?!

What is you favourite TV series?

What was you favourite childhood book?

Are there any tips you would give to new bloggers?

If you could visit anywhere in the world, where would it be and why?

What encouraged you to start blogging?

What is your absolute guilty pleasure!?
Coming up with 11 questions is harder than it sounds!! Have fun!

2 thoughts on “The Liebster Award

Leave a Reply

