Sunday…so I must bake bread!

Again we come to Sunday, and again I need to bake a yummy loaf of bread for my son to take packed lunches to school tomorrow!

Sunday is the only day of the week I have a slight possibility of a lie in in the morning, however, this morning at 7 when my alarm went off I was wide awake. So, by 7.30 I was in the kitchen, my boyfriend and son still fast asleep, and I was kneading bread.

 

Instead of a simple white loaf today I have made a loaf with half white flour and half a special flour from a local mill, Tuxford Gold, this consists of a mix of maize flour and white flour. I am mainly making this because I want to make some rye bread, but if I try and buy more flour and think my boyfriend will flip if I haven’t finished at least one of the many bags of flour I have!

Anyway, the recipe is as follows…

Ingredients

250g White Bread Flour

250g Tuxford Gold Bread Flour (any slightly more exciting than white flour really)

30g Butter, softened

10g Yeast

10g Salt

320ml cool water

Method

*Oven 220c

1. Mix all ingredients in a bowl, you may not need all of the water, you may need slightly more, my bread needed it all so that the dough was soft and supple.

2. Knead for 10 minutes until the dough bounces back when prodded.

3. Put into an oiled bowl, cover with oiled cling film and leave somewhere warm to rise for an hour, or 2 or 3.

4. Knock back and shape either into a round loaf or into a rectangle, roll up and put into a tin, making sure that the join is underneath. Put into a plastic bag and leave to rise for about an hour until doubled.

2013-01-27 10.29.22

5. Bake for 30 – 40 minutes or until the loaf sounds hollow when tapped on the bottom.

2013-01-27 11.15.16

Finally, I can have some breakfast (I am not a cereal person and I cant stand porridge, and we had no bread!), it’s only 11.30 so for a Sunday, I guess that’s ok! It was literally just out of the oven and still steaming! Absolutely yummy.

2013-01-27 11.16.15

Leave a Reply

